In A Human Moment

Miscellany from the 19th century

Defining the Historian: Victorian Guide To Sex

viceandvirtueblog

20140704-162209-58929068.jpg

So last month something awesome happened, and my first book ‘The Victorian Guide to Sex’ was published by Pen and Sword Books, Ltd. It’s been an amazing experience, eye opening and surprising all at the same time, but I’m really proud of the final version. I owe a huge debt of thanks to my brilliant illustrator, Steve Kirk, and the British Newspaper Archive, the Science Museum, the British Library, The Museum of London, as well as curators and archives across the world for helping me in the research.

20140704-162633-59193791.jpg

The feeling of holding your first book, with your actual name on it, is really strange. I think it’s only started to sink in and feel like a reality in the last few weeks, I still have to pinch myself, or get up in the middle of the night and look at the copy sitting on my bookshelf, to actually believe it.

View original post 40 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

